Published: 08th Aug 2023 Images: Scottish Cycling

Race The Worlds riders follow in van der Poel’s footsteps

Less than 24 hours after Mathieu van der Poel raised his arms in the air to the acclaim of the cheering crowds on George Square, Scotland’s best young riders got the opportunity to do the same.

Going head-to-head in our Race The Worlds Road Crit finals, the best young riders in the country got the once in a lifetime opportunity to race around the closed city centre circuit, crossing the same finish line in George Square that their idols crossed the previous day. 

The image of Erin Boothman (East Kilbride RC), a name to watch in the years to come, crossing the line in a near identical finishing salute to van der Poel, was the perfect metaphor that summarises just how powerful our Race The Worlds series is when it comes to inspiring the next generation. 

Boothman attacked early in the final race of the morning – the Under 16 Girls – the European Youth Olympic silver medallist time trialling her way to victory, and another accolade to add to her growing palmares. Second and third place finishers Kayla Dinnin (Dumfries CC) and Freya Mowbray (Scotia Offroad Race Team) also got a trip to the UCI podium to collect their medals.

The weather was typical of a summer’s day in Glasgow – largely fine with sunset cutting through the city centre architecture, but with the odd downpour just to test riders skill and nerve on the tight corners. Struan Shaw (Edinburgh RC) was more than up to the test in the U16 Boy’s race, a stinging attack seeing him go clear of his rivals, and like van der Poel, crossing the line with a healthy two minute margin back to Elliot Speedie (Edinburgh RC), whilst Adam Murray (East Kilbride RC) won the group kick to the line for bronze. 

Racing got underway in the aforementioned morning sunshine with the combined Under 12s field racing for honours, with the coveted Santini Race The Worlds custom jersy up for grabs. 

Jake Stewart attacked solo and claimed the victory in the Under 12 boys’ race, with Falkirk Junior Bike Club’s Sarah McCormac who sprinted to victory in an enthralling girl’s race. Alexander Mullen and Thomas MacLeod round off the podium in the boys’ event, while Emma Nicholson and Boo Williams took the minor medals in the girls race. 

Hamish Mayes (Edinburgh Road Club) was victorious after a solo attack in the Under 14 boys, while Reuben McLardie (Johnstone Jets) pipped Fraser Gemmill on the line for silver after the duo worked well together in the chase group. 

After winning the British Youth Circuit title a recently, Melanie Rowe (Deeside Thistle CC) was the one to watch in the Under 14 girls’ race. A wise prediction, as the Aberdeenshire native forced herself away from the rest of the field to produce a solo victory on the circuit, which proved suited to attacks, with it’s six bends over the 1.2km. 

Ava Luce (Deeside Thistle) did enough to make it a 1-2 for the Aberdeen-based club after she dispatched Millie Boothman (East Kilbride RC) in the sprint to the line. 

Newly crowned World Champions Fin Graham and Jenny Holl were in attendance, straight off the back of their feats the previous evening, to award the young riders with their new Santini Race The Worlds jersey and their medals on the podium in George Square. 

A massive thank you to the volunteers and officials for making the event possible in Glasgow City Centre, and to our friends at for producing the live feed in the fan zone.