Published: 11th Nov 2023 Images: Scottish Cycling

Johnson scores hat-trick on Day One of Youth & Junior Champs

Edinburgh RC’s Sarah Johnson clinched three national titles as the Scottish national Youth and Junior Track Champs got underway at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome.

The morning started with the junior men’s individual pursuit with Calum Moir (Zappi Junior RT) claiming the gold medal after riding a 3:24.733 over the 3km stretch in the final over Ahron Dick (The Cycling Academy). A small surprise to some as the finishing order reversed in the first-round standings, while Lewis Day (RT23) impressed with a 3:33.639 to claim bronze

Sarah Johnson (Edinburgh RC) won out in a round-robin for the junior women’s sprint title after defeating Christina Smith and Niamh Campbell-Williams (JRC-Interflon), who had to settle for silver and bronze, respectively. While Issac Small (Deeside Thistle) won out over Adam Murray (East Kilbride) in the junior men’s sprint.

The bunch racing got underway in the afternoon with the always exciting prospect of the Youth A boys points race. A sedate start was kicked into life after around the one third mark of the 15km race, with attacks coming from Evan Marsh (Johnstone Wheelers) with Struan Shaw (Edinburgh RC) impressing at the sprints.

Sam Martin (Beeston CC) attacked with 25 laps to go, and quietly gained a sizeable lead over the field of around 100 metres but was brought back by the chase as they entered the final 5km of racing. Heading into the final sprint Shaw led with an advantage of seven points; with the final sprint counting double, he only needed a top three finish to take the title.

Colin Johnstone (Johnstone Wheelers) won the final sprint to take the bronze medal, with Shaw’s second place more than enough to claim gold. Elliot Speedie (Edinburgh RC) scored the silver medal.

Adam Murray bettered his silver medal in the Youth A Boys’500m time trial with a gold medal ride of 34.520. The East Kilbride rider suffered a puncture in his first attempt, but was permitted the opportunity to ride again, and the British Champion grasped it with both hands to take the Scottish title. Elliot Speedie (Edinburgh RC) claimed silver with Sam Martin (Beeston CC) in third.

In the girls’ event, the gold medal was won by Melanie Rowe (Deeside Thistle CC) with an impressive time of 38.997, Kasey Park (Edinburgh RC) claimed silver with Hope Thomson (Deeside Thistle CC) scoring the bronze medal.

Sarah Johnson (Edinburgh RC) claimed gold in the junior women’s 500m with a 36.788, with Christina Smith in second place and Millie Thomson (Deeside Thistle) claiming the bronze medal.

The junior riders raced their scratch races today, and it was a tale of two races.

Three riders forced their way clear in the final stages of the women’s 10km race with Sarah Johnson (Edinburgh RC) out front with Millie Thomson (Deeside Thistle) and Niamh Campbell-Williams (JRC-Interflon). It would come down to the final dash for the line with Johnson’s superior sprint paying dividends as she came over the top of Thomson on the final straight to take the gold and complete her hat-trick, with Campbell-Williams securing bronze.

Calum Moir (Zappi Junior RT) and Sam Edgar (Ribble rechrg) battled it out for the victory in the junior men’s scratch race. The two escaped from the bunch and were joined by Lewis Dey (RT23) as they looked to gain a lap. Dey dropped back into the main field as Moir and Edgar pushed on to take an all-important lap advantage halfway through the race.

As the two upfront knew they would at least take home a silver there was less impetuous to chase attacks in the final stages. An excellent late Rhys Edwards (Trainsharp) attack saw him cross the line first and take the bronze medal.

In the final race of Saturday’s action Melanie Rowe (Deeside Thistle) was on excellent form in the Youth A girls points race lapping the field on three occasions to take home the gold medal and become Scottish National Champion.

Eve Fairbairn (Discovery Junior CC) produced a strong ride to claim silver, with Kayla Dinnen (Dumfries CC) with the bronze medal.

A massive thank you to Johnstone Wheelers for organising the National Champs, with an extra thank you to our marvellous team of commissaires and volunteers for supporting today’s racing.

Sunday sees more action take place with 14 more national champions crowned.