Published: 13th Nov 2023 Images: Scottish Cycling

Moir success at the Youth and Junior Track Championships

Sunday saw the continuation of the fine performances at the Scottish National Youth and Junior Track Championships on the boards of the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome. At this stage in their cycling most riders haven’t yet decided if they will be sprint or endurance specialists so most were lining up in both types of races.

If you haven’t yet read our report from day one, you can do so here.

Calum Moir (Zappi Junior RT) was one of the stars of the weekend, adding a further two Scottish titles to the two he won on Saturday, whilst Sarah Johnson (Edinburgh RC) made if four from four after a hattrick of gold medals the previous day.

For Moir, it started with a blistering 1.04.560 time, nearly five seconds clear of minor medallists Isaac Small (Deeside Thistle CC) and Lewis Dey (RT23), to win the Junior Men’s Kilo, before adding the 25km Points Race title to his burgeoning collection. Moir won a remarkable five of the available ten sprints in that one, with his final placing across the line in second giving him a points tally of 40 and the gold medal.

With two intermediate sprints and the final dash to the line Rhys Edwards (trainSharp Development Team) took silver with 26 points, whilst consistency saw Ahron Dick (The Cycling Academy) finish with 22 points to beat Robert Smart and Lukas Mearns (Discovery Juniors CC) to the final podium position.

The bunch races provided a fitting finale to a great weekend, with commentator Colin Edgar calling the Youth A Boys 12km Scratch race one of the most exciting of the weekend, with attacks going clear, being brought back and then going again, it was Sam Martin (Beeston CC) who finally triumphed against Struan Shaw (Edinburgh RC) and Colin Johnston (Johnstone Jets). It was a fantastic race full of action, including a lucky escape for ERC’s Elliot Speedie as his front wheel spokes snapped towards the final windup; he showed remarkable skills to keep it upright and bring it in to the barrier without taking himself or any other rider out.

In the Junior Women’s 15km Points Race it was another fine performance by Millie Thomson (Deeside Thistle) as she took five of the six available sprints to end on a classification total of 31. Not far behind in the sprints, and first across the line, was Niamh Campbell William (JRC Interflon) with 24 points and silver, Evie White (Alba Development RT) in bronze with 12 points.

The final race of the day, the Youth A Girls 10km Scratch Race, saw another stellar ride from Melanie Rowe (Deeside Thistle) to claim yet another gold medal and round off the championship weekend. Millie Boothman (Glasgow Riderz) came home in second place overall to claim silver and Eve Fairbairn got third to book another visit to the podium where the final medals were presented by long-time cycling stalwart Flora Mason.

Sarah Johnson was the pick of the sprinters across the weekend, and with the derny motorbike taking to the track she would show great positioning as well as power to take the title in the Junior Women’s Keirin, ahead of Christina Smith (GTRC) and Niamh Campbell William. In the men’s equivalent it was gold for Isaac Small (Deeside Thistle), with Adam Murray (East Kilbride RC) in silver and Robert Smart (Spokes RT) in bronze.

Sunday morning started with a flurry of exciting sprint action, Eve Fairbairn (Discovery Juniors) taking the Youth A Girls Sprint crown from Edinburgh RC’s Kasey Park and Izzy Barbour (SteppingStanes Youth CC). In the Youth A Boys equivalent it was Adam Murray who won out from The Cycling Academy’s Vyaan Dhokia, the bronze going to another member of the Barbour family in the form of Zach Barbour (SteppingStanes Youth CC)!

The Youth C Flying 200 TT was a specialist event for the host club Johnstone Jets, with Eilidh Scally outright fastest on the day in 14.896. Second girl was Eden Thomson (Deeside Thistle CC) to take silver in the girl’s event. For the Boys, Ruaraidh Macpherson beat his Jets teammate Calum Lambie in a time of 15.991 with Discovery Juniors’ Callum Atkinson in bronze.

The same names came to the fore in the Youth C Boys and Girls Omnium events but with a slightly different order. Calum Lambie took gold overall in the boys final standings with Eilidh Scally in second spot but gold for the girls. Silver and bronze for the boys went to Ruaraidh Macpherson and Callum Atkinson, with Eden Thomson taking silver in the girls.

Onto the 2km Individual Pursuit for the Youth A Girls and Melanie Rowe once again showed her talent to finish in a time of 2:34.276 and take gold. Not too far behind was Kayla Dinnin (Dumfries CC) in 2:43.845, with Eve Fairbairn in 2:51.268 just edging Kasey Park by half a second to claim bronze.

In the Youth A Boys 2000m IP Elliot Speedie (Edinburgh RC) was the first rider to go over the 50kph mark and took gold with a time of 2:21.781. Alasdair Easton (The Cycling Academy) claimed silver in 2:24.278 and bronze went to Evan Marsh (Johnstone Jets) a further second back in 2:25.364.

A fantastic weekend and another fantastic national championship, with huge thanks as ever going to the commissaires, the many volunteers who make racing happen and of course Johnstone Jets Kenny Steele, who has once again done a sterling job as event organiser. See you at the upcoming Senior Championships at the same venue on the 9th & 10th December, entries for that one here.